Short answer: Most monitoring tools take screenshots, but they differ on three things that matter more than the feature itself: which plan includes them, how often they can be taken, and how long they are kept. As of October 20, 2026: ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring includes screenshots at $3 per user per month and deletes them automatically after 3 to 15 days; Time Doctor includes them from its $8 Basic plan; Hubstaff lists unlimited screenshots from its $12 Team plan (monthly billing); Insightful includes them in its $8 plan (billed annually) and charges extra for on-demand or higher-frequency capture; DeskTime includes them on its Premium plan; ActivTrak sells them as an add-on; Teramind's $14 Starter plan lists visual evidence capture and live screen playback. Clockify's pricing page does not mention screenshots.
Disclosure: ECOMHUTSY makes Team Monitoring. Competitor facts come only from each vendor's own website or help centre, checked October 20, 2026, and are linked below. We describe what each vendor publishes; we do not rate quality. Confirm details before you buy. Product names are trademarks of their owners.
Comparison: how each tool handles screenshots
| Tool | Lowest plan that includes screenshots | Price of that plan (per user per month) | Capture options published | Retention published | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring | Single plan | $3, monthly | At an interval the company chooses | Deleted automatically after 3, 5, 7, 10 or 15 days (company chooses) | [1] |
| Time Doctor | Basic | $8 monthly / $6.67 annual | Screenshots from Basic; web and app usage reporting from Standard ($14) | Not stated on pages checked | [2] |
| Hubstaff | Team (lowest plan listing "unlimited screenshots") | $12 monthly / $10 annual | Optional; configurable at role, project or organisation level | Not stated on pages checked | [3][4] |
| Insightful | Workforce Analytics | $8, billed annually | Screenshots included; on-demand screenshots +$4; increased frequency (up to 120 per hour) +$3; screen recording +$4 | Not stated on pages checked | [5] |
| DeskTime | Premium | $9.17, billed annually (excl. VAT) | Screenshots listed in Premium | Not stated on pages checked | [6] |
| ActivTrak | Work Activity Tracking + Screen Details add-on | $10, annual only, plus add-on (price not published) | Add-on on the $10 and $15 plans; not on the free plan | Data history 6 months on those plans | [7] |
| Teramind | Starter | $14, billed annually, 5-seat minimum | "Quick visual evidence capture" and "live screen playback"; forensic session recording on UAM ($28) | Not stated on pages checked | [8] |
| Clockify | Not stated | — | Pricing page lists an activity-monitoring agent from Pro ($9.99 monthly) but does not mention screenshots | — | [9] |
Why retention matters as much as the screenshot
Every screenshot is a copy of whatever was on an employee's screen: customer data, personal messages that popped up, passwords half-typed into a field. The longer screenshots are kept, the more you are responsible for protecting.
- Short, automatic retention keeps the record useful for review this week without building a large archive.
- Ask every vendor how long screenshots are kept by default, whether you can shorten it, and whether deletion is automatic.
- Put the retention period in your written policy. Our employee monitoring policy template has a section for it.
ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring lets each company choose 3, 5, 7, 10 or 15 days, after which screenshots are deleted automatically.
Choosing an interval
There is no single right interval. A longer interval means fewer images to store and review; a shorter one gives more context per hour. Start with the least frequent interval that answers your real question, and review it after a month. Our guide to screenshot monitoring walks through intervals, access and consent.
Which tool fits which team
| Situation | Look at |
|---|---|
| Windows-based team, budget-sensitive, needs screenshots plus attendance and daily reports | ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring ($3) |
| Need tracking on Mac, Linux or mobile | Hubstaff (lists Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android apps); check each other vendor's download page |
| Need very high-frequency capture or screen recording | Insightful add-ons, Teramind |
| Need insider-risk investigation and session video | Teramind UAM |
| Need timesheets without screenshots | Clockify |
Frequently asked questions
Which time tracking software takes screenshots? ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring, Time Doctor, Hubstaff, Insightful, DeskTime (Premium), ActivTrak (with the Screen Details add-on) and Teramind all publish screenshot or screen-capture features, as of October 20, 2026. Clockify's pricing page does not list screenshots.
What is the cheapest time tracker with screenshots? Of the eight tools checked, ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring has the lowest list price with screenshots included: $3 per user per month, minimum 2 users, 30-day free trial (card required). Time Doctor Basic is $8 monthly; Insightful Workforce Analytics is $8 billed annually.
How long does ECOMHUTSY keep screenshots? Each company chooses 3, 5, 7, 10 or 15 days. After that, screenshots are deleted automatically.
Can I choose how often screenshots are taken? In ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring, yes: the company sets the interval. Hubstaff lets admins configure screenshots by role, project or organisation. Insightful sells higher-frequency capture as a $3 add-on.
Do I need to tell employees about screenshots? Yes, in practice. Tell your team what is captured, how often, who can see it and how long it is kept, in writing, before you switch it on. Laws differ by country and state; read our guide is employee monitoring legal?.
Sources (checked October 20, 2026)
- ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring: https://ecomhutsy.com/products/team-monitoring
- Time Doctor Help Center, pricing plans and features: https://support.timedoctor.com/knowledge/time-doctor-pricing-plans-and-features
- Hubstaff, "Hubstaff Review 2026" pricing section (updated September 16, 2026): https://hubstaff.com/blog/hubstaff-review/
- Hubstaff, "Hubstaff vs. Clockify": https://hubstaff.com/hubstaff-vs-clockify
- Insightful pricing: https://www.insightful.io/pricing
- DeskTime pricing: https://desktime.com/pricing
- ActivTrak pricing: https://www.activtrak.com/pricing/
- Teramind pricing (checked in a browser October 20, 2026; the page shows local currency, about $14 per seat per month for Starter billed annually, 5-seat minimum; Starter lists "visual evidence capture and live playback"): https://www.teramind.co/services/price/
- Clockify pricing: https://clockify.me/pricing
- Hubstaff downloads: https://hubstaff.com/download



