Time Doctor alternatives: 6 tools compared on price and features
Time Doctor is a well-known time tracker with screenshots, but its plans split features in a way that raises the real price: screenshots start on Basic, while app and website usage reporting starts on Standard at $14 per user per month.
This page compares six alternatives on the points that decide the bill, using each vendor's own pricing page (checked October 20, 2026). Prices are per user per month in US dollars.
$3 per user per month · minimum 2 users · 1-month free trial (card required) · free live demo

Which Time Doctor alternative should you pick?
For a Windows-based team that needs screenshots, active and idle time, app and website usage and attendance on one plan, ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring costs $3 per user per month, against $14 monthly for Time Doctor Standard. Hubstaff suits teams that need Mac, Linux or mobile apps. Insightful suits teams that need very frequent capture or screen recording. Clockify suits teams that only need timesheets.
Disclosure: ECOMHUTSY makes Team Monitoring. Every competitor fact below links to that vendor's own page so you can check it.
What Time Doctor costs today
| Time Doctor plan | Monthly billing | Annual billing | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $8 | $6.67 | Includes screenshots |
| Standard | $14 | $11.67 | Adds app and website usage reporting |
| Premium | $20 | $16.70 | Top plan |
| Trial | 14 days of Premium | Seat minimum not stated |
Time Doctor alternatives side by side
| Tool | Entry price (per user per month) | Billing | Screenshots | Minimum seats | Free option |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring | $3, one plan | Monthly | Included, at an interval you choose; deleted after 3–15 days | 2 | 1-month free trial (card required) |
| Hubstaff | Starter $7 (Team $12 lists unlimited screenshots) | Monthly; annual from $4.99 | Optional; set at role, project or organisation level | 2 (paid plans) | 14-day trial, no card |
| Insightful | $8 | Billed annually; month-to-month on select plans | Included; on-demand and screen recording as add-ons | Not stated | 7-day trial |
| DeskTime | Pro $6.42 (screenshots listed in Premium $9.17) | Annual billing, excl. VAT | Listed in Premium | Not stated | 14-day trial |
| ActivTrak | $10 | Annual only | Screen Details add-on (price not published) | Free plan up to 3 workers | Free plan (3 workers) |
| Clockify | $4.99 | Monthly; annual from $3.99 | Not mentioned | Free plan up to 5 users | Free plan |
What a 10-person team pays per month
The plan that includes the features you need sets the real price. This is the monthly cost for 10 users on each tool's lowest plan that lists screenshots, at the published prices. On Time Doctor, app and website usage reporting needs Standard ($140 for 10 users).
| Tool and plan | Per user | 10 users per month |
|---|---|---|
| ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring | $3 monthly | $30 |
| Time Doctor Basic | $8 monthly | $80 |
| Insightful Workforce Analytics | $8, billed annually | $80 |
| DeskTime Premium | $9.17, billed annually (excl. VAT) | $91.70 |
| Hubstaff Team | $12 monthly | $120 |
Moving from Time Doctor without losing a week
Pick by situation
| Your situation | Look at |
|---|---|
| Windows team, budget-sensitive, needs screenshots, app usage and attendance on one plan | ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring ($3) |
| Need tracking on Mac, Linux or mobile | Hubstaff |
| Need very frequent capture or screen recording | Insightful add-ons |
| Want a free plan for a very small team | ActivTrak (3 workers) or Clockify (5 users) |
| Need timesheets without screenshots | Clockify |
Sources
All competitor facts were taken from each vendor's own page and checked on October 20, 2026. Prices and plans change; confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
- ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring: ecomhutsy.com/products/team-monitoring
- Time Doctor pricing plans and features: support.timedoctor.com/knowledge/time-doctor-pricing-plans-and-features
- Hubstaff, Hubstaff Review 2026 (pricing section): hubstaff.com/blog/hubstaff-review/
- Insightful pricing: www.insightful.io/pricing
- DeskTime pricing: desktime.com/pricing
- ActivTrak pricing: www.activtrak.com/pricing/
- Clockify pricing: clockify.me/pricing
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest alternative to Time Doctor with screenshots?+
Among the tools compared here, ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring has the lowest price that includes screenshots: $3 per user per month on one plan, with a minimum of 2 users. Time Doctor Basic, which also includes screenshots, is $8 monthly.
Is there a free alternative to Time Doctor?+
ActivTrak has a free plan for up to 3 workers and Clockify has a free plan for up to 5 users. ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring offers a 1-month free trial (card required).
Which Time Doctor alternative works on Mac?+
Hubstaff lists Mac, Windows, Linux and mobile apps. ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring's desktop app runs on Windows; managers use the web portal from any browser.
Does ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring track idle time like Time Doctor?+
Yes. Every tracked hour shows how much had keyboard or mouse activity and how much was idle, and it adds into daily and period reports.
How were these tools compared?+
Each fact comes from the vendor's own pricing or help page, checked on October 20, 2026, and is linked in the sources list. ECOMHUTSY makes Team Monitoring, which is why every competitor claim is linked.
Compare it with Time Doctor on your own team
Start the 1-month free trial, or book a free live demo and we'll set it up with you.


