ActivTrak alternatives with monthly billing and screenshots
ActivTrak is strong on activity analytics, but two things send many small teams looking elsewhere: paid plans are billed annually only, and screenshots need the Screen Details add-on, whose price is not published.
This page compares five alternatives on billing, screenshots and price, using each vendor's own pricing page (checked October 20, 2026). Prices are per user per month in US dollars.
$3 per user per month · minimum 2 users · 1-month free trial (card required) · free live demo

Which ActivTrak alternative should you pick?
For a Windows-based team that wants monthly billing with screenshots, active and idle time and attendance included, ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring costs $3 per user per month on one plan. Time Doctor and Hubstaff also offer monthly billing; Hubstaff adds Mac, Linux and mobile apps. If you only need a free plan for up to 3 people, ActivTrak's free plan may be enough.
Disclosure: ECOMHUTSY makes Team Monitoring. Every competitor fact below links to that vendor's own page so you can check it.
What ActivTrak offers today
| ActivTrak | |
|---|---|
| Plans | Free; $10, $15, $17, $21 per user per month |
| Billing | Annual only |
| Screenshots | Screen Details add-on on the $10 and $15 plans; add-on price not published |
| Data history | 6 months on the $10 and $15 plans |
| Free plan | Up to 3 workers |
ActivTrak alternatives side by side
| Tool | Lowest plan with screenshots | Price of that plan | Billing | Minimum seats | Trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring | Single plan | $3 | Monthly | 2 | 1 month (card required) |
| Time Doctor | Basic | $8 monthly / $6.67 annual | Monthly or annual | Not stated | 14 days of Premium |
| Insightful | Workforce Analytics | $8 | Billed annually; month-to-month on select plans | Not stated | 7 days |
| DeskTime | Premium | $9.17 (excl. VAT) | Annual | Not stated | 14 days |
| Hubstaff | Team (unlimited screenshots) | $12 monthly / $10 annual | Monthly or annual | 2 (paid plans) | 14 days, no card |
Pick by situation
| Your situation | Look at |
|---|---|
| Want monthly billing and screenshots included, Windows team | ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring ($3) |
| Need Mac, Linux or mobile apps | Hubstaff |
| Need very frequent capture or screen recording | Insightful add-ons |
| Up to 3 people and no screenshots needed | ActivTrak free plan |
Sources
All competitor facts were taken from each vendor's own page and checked on October 20, 2026. Prices and plans change; confirm on the vendor's page before buying.
- ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring: ecomhutsy.com/products/team-monitoring
- ActivTrak pricing: www.activtrak.com/pricing/
- Time Doctor pricing plans and features: support.timedoctor.com/knowledge/time-doctor-pricing-plans-and-features
- Insightful pricing: www.insightful.io/pricing
- DeskTime pricing: desktime.com/pricing
- Hubstaff, Hubstaff Review 2026 (pricing section): hubstaff.com/blog/hubstaff-review/
Frequently asked questions
Does ActivTrak take screenshots?+
Screenshots come with ActivTrak's Screen Details add-on, available on the $10 and $15 plans. ActivTrak does not publish the add-on's price.
Is there an ActivTrak alternative with monthly billing?+
Yes. ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring ($3), Time Doctor and Hubstaff all offer monthly billing. ActivTrak's paid plans are billed annually.
What is the cheapest ActivTrak alternative with screenshots?+
Among the tools compared here, ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring at $3 per user per month, minimum 2 users, with screenshots included.
Which alternative works on Mac?+
Hubstaff lists Mac, Windows, Linux and mobile apps. ECOMHUTSY Team Monitoring's desktop app runs on Windows; managers use the web portal from any browser.
How were these tools compared?+
Each fact comes from the vendor's own pricing or help page, checked on October 20, 2026, and is linked in the sources list. ECOMHUTSY makes Team Monitoring.
Try the monthly $3 option
Start the 1-month free trial, or book a free live demo and compare it on your own workflow.


